RSS Feed

HCW Tech Blog

For the latest info on computer hardware, tech, news, video games, software tips, and Linux, check out our new improved front page: HCW Tech Blog

Reviewed by: Carl Nelson [09.04.08]
Manufactured by: OCZ Technology



We'll be looking at several aspect of performance when considering the ReaperX from OCZ.

First of all, all benchmarking was done on an Intel system and an AMD system. We'll post the specs later.

What we want to determine is, what kind of impact on performance do the low latency timings offer? For this, we simply upped the timings to a more standard 5-5-5-17, without touching anything else.

Of course, we also want to know how far we can push this memory, at both low and high timings. Overclocking at 4-4-3-15 is going to be all but futile, but we'll see what we can do. With more relaxed timings of 5-5-5-17, we should be able to overclock much higher.

The Specs

The specs are as follows:

Intel System

CPU: Core 2 Duo E8500
Motherboard: Abit IP35 Pro (Reviewed Here)
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 7950 GT

AMD System

CPU: Athlon64 X2 6400+ (Reviewed Here)
Motherboard: Abit AX78 (Reviewed Here)
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 7950 GT

Windows Vista 32 bit with SP1 was installed (so yes, we only accessed 3GB of this 4GB kit, which doesn't affect our scores here).


I have to admit, this is the first time I have overclocked with a 4GB kit. I wasn't sure what to expect, but in the end, it turns out that overclocking a 4GB kit is a bit tricker than a 2GB.

Intel Overclocking 4-4-3-15

On our Intel system, the highest I could get the memory to run stable was 415 MHz or 830 DDR2. That is quite a bit lower than our record holder, OCZ's 2GB SOE Urban Elite. Even with very high voltages, this is as far as it went for me.

Intel Overclocking 5-5-5-17

Relaxed timings opened things up quite a bit, and I was able to get it up to 525 MHz or 1050 DDR2. This is actually higher than the SOE Urban Elite, which was only able to achive up to 1040 DDR2 in our tests.

AMD Overclocking 4-4-3-15

Things didn't go so well on the AMD side. With a 15x multiplier and CPU/8 divider, the best we could get was 412.5 MHz or 825 DDR2. Not quite as high as with the Intel board, but close.

AMD Overclocking 5-5-5-17

Once again, relaxing the timings let this ram fly, as we were able to clock it up to 532.5 MHz, or 1065 DDR2! Smoking fast!

Now that we're all excited, let's see how these babies perform!

Next Page: (Memory Latency, Bandwidth)