Go Back   HCW Tech Forum > hardCOREware Forums > hardCOREware Lounge > New Members

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 10-03-2002, 02:31 PM   #1
Diamond Dust
softcore 1st class
 
Diamond Dust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 28
Diamond Dust
Default Howdy!

heya's i am new here love the site and fourms, kind of a hardware newb here just built my first computer 4 months ago, here we go.

xp1800 @ 1632- cooled by thermaltake volcano 6
soyo dragon plus mobo
kingston 512 ddr
Geforce 3 ti500
40gig samsung 7200rpm
crappy cdr/rw drive
crappy dvd-rom drive
crappy 16 gig ibm(for backup stuff)
crappy 19" monitor (from my old pc)
not so good antec case 300w power drilled some holes in front of case,
2-thermaltake smart fan 2's

all the "crappy" stuff are parts i took from my gateway computer i had 5 years ago. I need to get a new power supply after adding those 2 thermaltake fans my power supply seems to be blowing hotter air out and my temps went up a good 3 or 4 degrees.
i also want to get one of the Xaser II cases from thermaltake.
Diamond Dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2002, 02:45 PM   #2
qlz19
Truly HARDCORE
 
qlz19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,484
qlz19
Default

hey good to have you
__________________
"For in the end, There can be only one!"
qlz19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2002, 02:53 PM   #3
bearax
Truly HARDCORE
 
bearax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 1,182
bearax
Default

Welcome aboard!
__________________
don't make me angry....you wouldn't like me when I am angry.
bearax is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2002, 03:10 PM   #4
wilcox
punkin' daft
 
wilcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north eh!
Posts: 6,503
wilcox is on a distinguished road
Default

Shine on you crazy Diamond!
__________________
* 20" iMac
* 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
* 4 GB memory
* 500GB SATA hard drive
* 8x double-layer SuperDrive
* ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO with 256MB memory
* OSX Leopard Snow
wilcox is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2002, 06:19 PM   #5
Diamond Dust
softcore 1st class
 
Diamond Dust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 28
Diamond Dust
Default

Thanks for the welcome! actually I did some searchs and reading and found that I had my intake and outake switched up and while I was in my case I bundled some loosed power wires and my case temp is now 31c instead of 38c it was idle at before and cpu is 40c compares to the 46c it was idle at before.
__________________
-My PC-
P4 2.6c 800mhz w/ HT
2 Geil 512ddr pc3200 (on dual channel)
Gigabyte 8KNXP
Radeon 9800pro 128mb
Sb Audigy 2
Vantec Aeroflow- and 4 stock case fans
Thermaltake xaser p/s 480w
80gig Western Digital 7200rpm 8mb cache
Lian-Li PC6089 case
cable oragami
Diamond Dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2002, 06:41 PM   #6
rstarr
Still cruising
 
rstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Radcliff, KY
Posts: 12,011
rstarr is on a distinguished road
Default

Airflow through a case is pretty important and helps to keep the temps down.

One other thing, what kind of hard drive and cd-rom cables are you using, flat or rounded?

Oh, and welcome. Glad to have you.
rstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2002, 07:00 PM   #7
Diamond Dust
softcore 1st class
 
Diamond Dust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 28
Diamond Dust
Default

I have one coolermaster round cable for my harddrives and my other IDE cable I rounded myself and same with disk drive.
__________________
-My PC-
P4 2.6c 800mhz w/ HT
2 Geil 512ddr pc3200 (on dual channel)
Gigabyte 8KNXP
Radeon 9800pro 128mb
Sb Audigy 2
Vantec Aeroflow- and 4 stock case fans
Thermaltake xaser p/s 480w
80gig Western Digital 7200rpm 8mb cache
Lian-Li PC6089 case
cable oragami
Diamond Dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2002, 07:03 PM   #8
rstarr
Still cruising
 
rstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Radcliff, KY
Posts: 12,011
rstarr is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok, that's good. Rounded cables help with airflow. Flat tend to restrict airflow.

You can push the rounded cables out of the way for even better airflow. I "tuck" the cable inside the internal empty bay if I have the room.
rstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2002, 07:10 PM   #9
lowlight
37% More Evil!
 
lowlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 13,081
lowlight will become famous soon enough
Default

CableStore.us has a sale on right now, you buy 2 IDE cables and get the floppy for free.

I like the Aqua Marine colour myself

__________________
You do read our reviews, right?
lowlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2002, 07:11 PM   #10
Diamond Dust
softcore 1st class
 
Diamond Dust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 28
Diamond Dust
Default

I taped some loose parts of wires to the back of the case, to keep the air coming threw, I also like my fans becase I have the speed controler wire so I can turn it up when i am playing a game or something, can take my fans from 1400rpm to 5444rpm,i ran wires to the outside of case for easy access but I have seen cases with low med and high switch on the outside of case which I like alot but I will have to settle for what I have hehe
__________________
-My PC-
P4 2.6c 800mhz w/ HT
2 Geil 512ddr pc3200 (on dual channel)
Gigabyte 8KNXP
Radeon 9800pro 128mb
Sb Audigy 2
Vantec Aeroflow- and 4 stock case fans
Thermaltake xaser p/s 480w
80gig Western Digital 7200rpm 8mb cache
Lian-Li PC6089 case
cable oragami

Last edited by Diamond Dust; 10-03-2002 at 07:14 PM.
Diamond Dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Copyright ©2000 - 2018