Go Back   HCW Tech Forum > hardCOREware Forums > HCW Tech Talk

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 03-28-2007, 11:10 AM   #1
villageidiot
softcore 1st class
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 37
villageidiot is on a distinguished road
Default overclocking my e6300

hello my respected overclocking betters.

I need some fast informative advice. I'm looking to overclock my e6300 to about a 400mhz fsb in order to match a 1:1 ratio on my DDR800 ram.

mobo: 965p-dq6
ram: ddr800 geil cas 5

I'd like to know the type of cpu voltage and fsb voltage required to pull such an overclock off stabily.

I'm not looking to break any land speed records, but just to get optimum value from my cpu, ram and mobo.
__________________
---- I am Jack's smirking revenge ---
Gigabyte GA-965-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 3.6 - 50% OC - Zalman VF9700
2x Kingston DDR800 2Gb @ 800Mhz
Nvidia 8800GTX [email protected] [email protected]
XFi OEM
1.75TB
villageidiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2007, 11:15 AM   #2
kraig
Avg. Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 4,653
kraig is on a distinguished road
Default Re: overclocking my e6300

FSB doesn't have a voltage.

the CPU voltage for stability is a trial and error. it depends on the CPU, motherboard etc..

try upping it to the speed you want in increments. run prime95 to test stability. if it gets unstable, try upping the voltage by a small increment and run the test again. continue until you can't get system stable or you reached your target speed
__________________
I believe that the very act of believing in something causes us to distance ourselves from that thing. Now since we all know that in order to fully understand a thing one must be that thing, it seems obvious that the state of believing in something inevitably causes us to not truly understand it. This leads to all sorts of difficulties. "I believe in love" has a better than even chance of leading to divorce, while "I believe in God" seems to end in variations on the Spanish Inquisition
-CLP
kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2007, 12:55 PM   #3
5-Clicks
MAD Overclocking Guru
 
5-Clicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,194
5-Clicks is on a distinguished road
Default Re: overclocking my e6300

The vFSB doesn't do much. Don't worry about it.

The vICH controls the southbridge voltage. Again, don't worry about it.

The vMCH (northbridge), vCore (CPU), and vDIMM (RAM) are the only ones you need look at. The DQ6 shouldn't have any problems reaching 450FSB+.

I'd recommend setting the FSB to 375 for starters, keep the multi at 7x, put the RAM at a 2:1 ratio and 2.1-2.2v. Adjust the CPU and MCH voltage as needed and just work your way up the FSB to as high as the CPU or board will go. Just remember to keep an eye on your temps (I'd say don't let them go above ~65C load) and don't put more than ~1.45v through the CPU for 24/7 use...esspecially since we're going into the hot weather.

EDIT: For reference, I overclocked my previous E6300 here: http://hardcoreware.net/forum/showthread.php?t=27263
__________________
My Rigs
CPUs: Intel C2D E6600 (L630B015) @ 3.5GHz 1.4v --- AthlonX2 3600+ Brisbane (CAAFG 0651XPAW) 2.75GHz @ 1.425v --- 2x AMD Duron 1.7Ghz @ 2.2/2.4GHz --- Intel P4 2.6GHz
Motherboards: Abit QuadGT --- Biostar TForce 550 --- Abit NF7-S v2 --- Abit IC7-G
Memory: 2GB Corsair Dominator PC2-8500 --- 1GB Micron D9CWX (Fatbody) --- Random
Video: HIS Radeon X1900XT --> XTX --- Sapphire X700 --- 3x ATI Radeon 9500 (L-shape) @ 9700 Pro
Sound: Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700w


Last edited by 5-Clicks; 03-28-2007 at 12:58 PM.
5-Clicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2007, 03:29 PM   #4
ronnystrauss
Truly HARDCORE
 
ronnystrauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: new orleans
Posts: 1,500
ronnystrauss is on a distinguished road
Default Re: overclocking my e6300

theres fsb MAX voltage
__________________

Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.4 ghz w/ tuniq tower
-2X1gb Corsair XMS2 ddr2 800- hd 4870 - 700 watt thermaltake psu- 2X theatre 550- x-fi xtreme gamer- sceptere 20.1 wide screen monitor- Antec P180B-Asus P5w DH Deluxe +Wifi/AP
ronnystrauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Copyright ©2000 - 2018