Go Back   HCW Tech Forum > hardCOREware Forums > HCW Tech Talk

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 08-06-2005, 10:31 AM   #1
Winged Poop
y helo thar
 
Winged Poop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 9,169
Winged Poop is on a distinguished road
Default xbox HD in a pc?

anyone know how to get it to work in a pc?
its a WD protege 8 gig. manufactured august 2002.
Winged Poop is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2005, 10:41 AM   #2
[email protected]
jaggerbombs
 
G3n3R@1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,295
G3n3R@1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: xbox HD in a pc?

can it even be detected?
G3n3R@1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2005, 10:42 AM   #3
Winged Poop
y helo thar
 
Winged Poop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 9,169
Winged Poop is on a distinguished road
Default Re: xbox HD in a pc?

i tried it a while back and it was detected in bios but not windows

ok i just tried it again, its detected by the bios, and windows picks it up in device manager, but theres nothing in disk management. its like theres no volume or anything.

Last edited by Winged Poop; 08-06-2005 at 10:52 AM.
Winged Poop is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2005, 10:52 AM   #4
ECC
OM NOM NOM
 
ECC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UNBSJ Tunnel system
Posts: 6,359
ECC will become famous soon enough
Default Re: xbox HD in a pc?

http://www.xbox-scene.com/articles/pc-hdd.php
__________________
AMD A64 X2 5200+,8Gb DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 ,750 Seagate 32mb SATA, 250GB SE16 SATA, Radeon 4850, X2 LG DVD RW X2, AC F64 pro. W7 RC + VMs Lappy: T22 xp sp3
I am nerdier than 100% of all people. Are you nerdier? 2600il - The Israeli 2600 community
ECC is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2005, 10:53 AM   #5
Winged Poop
y helo thar
 
Winged Poop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 9,169
Winged Poop is on a distinguished road
Default Re: xbox HD in a pc?

thats impossible ecc, as i do not have an xbox to plug it into.
Winged Poop is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2005, 10:56 AM   #6
[email protected]
jaggerbombs
 
G3n3R@1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,295
G3n3R@1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: xbox HD in a pc?

try using a start up disk and try fdisking and formatting
G3n3R@1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2005, 11:07 AM   #7
Winged Poop
y helo thar
 
Winged Poop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 9,169
Winged Poop is on a distinguished road
Default Re: xbox HD in a pc?

im gonna try partition magic 8 if it ever loads, if this doesnt work i dont know what will...yeah its a bootable version too, no windows.

okay pm8 wouldnt load, so i tried fdisk on a win98 cd. it wouldnt detect the xbox partition, so it wouldnt let me delete it and i couldnt make a new one since all the space was used up.

Last edited by Winged Poop; 08-06-2005 at 11:21 AM.
Winged Poop is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2005, 11:33 AM   #8
wilcox
punkin' daft
 
wilcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north eh!
Posts: 6,503
wilcox is on a distinguished road
Default Re: xbox HD in a pc?

You need a modded xbox to unlock it. M$ does that so you can't use it in a PC. That's how I got mine to work.
__________________
* 20" iMac
* 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
* 4 GB memory
* 500GB SATA hard drive
* 8x double-layer SuperDrive
* ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO with 256MB memory
* OSX Leopard Snow

Last edited by wilcox; 08-06-2005 at 03:21 PM.
wilcox is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2005, 11:37 AM   #9
Winged Poop
y helo thar
 
Winged Poop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 9,169
Winged Poop is on a distinguished road
Default Re: xbox HD in a pc?

i might just set it next to a big magnet and forget about it for a while.

hows a 12 inch speaker sound?
Winged Poop is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2005, 11:56 AM   #10
[email protected]
jaggerbombs
 
G3n3R@1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,295
G3n3R@1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: xbox HD in a pc?

lol u need a 600$ RE magnet
G3n3R@1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Copyright ©2000 - 2018